Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


The management of the higher education system falls under the Ministry of Education, its Directorate of Secondary and Higher Education (DSHE), and the University Grants Commission (UGC). Higher education is offered in general, technical, engineering, agriculture, business, and medical streams. The minimum requirement for admission to higher education is the higher secondary certificate (HSC). There are both public and private universities. There is also tertiary level of Madrasah education. Madrasah education comprises Islamic religious education along with general education. This level is comprised of 4 (2+2) years of formal education. The minimum requirement for admission to higher level of Madrasah education is the Alim (equivalent to HSC) certificate. Alim pass students are qualified to enroll in 2-year Fazil education. After successful completion of the Fazil degree, one can enroll in 2-year Kamil education.

Stages of studies


Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations