Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


The higher education sector falls under the responsibility of the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research. It is provided by State and private institutions. The three-tier system based on the Bologna system LMD was introduced in 2011/2012, although some of the degrees offered under the traditional system still exist (DESS, DEA, Maîtrise).

Stages of studies

University level first stage


First university-level degree in the LMD system. Some institutions also offer diplomas from the traditional system such as the DUT (Diplôme universitaire de Technologie).

University level second stage


First postgraduate level after the Licence. In some institutions, degrees may still be awarded in the Arts and Social Sciences from the traditional system (DEA, DESS, Maîtrise).

University level third stage


A doctoral degree is awarded following the Master’s degree in the new LMD system.

Admission to Higher Education


Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations