Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


Higher education is provided by universities and higher education institutions, private and public. They come under the responsibility of the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research or the Ministry most appropriate to their specialty. On September 2006, the Ministry started the Bachelor/Master/Doctorate (LMD) reform which was integrated by all higher education institutions from 2009.

Stages of studies

University level first stage


The first cycle of university studies lasts for three years and leads to the Licence. In Medicine, the professional title of Docteur en Médecine is conferred after seven years.

University level second stage


The second cycle lasts for a further two years (4 semesters and 120 credits) and leads to the award of the Mastère, which can be of two types: Research-oriented or Professional.

University level third stage


The third cycle lasts for 3 years and leads to the Doctorat.


Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations