Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


Higher education institutions can be separated into two types having the same status but with different educational goals: the traditional universities and the universities of applied sciences (UAS). The main task of the universities is to carry out basic research and teaching while the universities of applied sciences place a greater emphasis on practically oriented studies and on applied research and development.

Stages of studies

University level first stage

Bachelor of Arts/ Bachelor of Science - Tertiary A level

The Bachelor's degree (180 ECTS credits/ three years' study) at universities provides fundamental academic education and teaches methodical academic thinking. At the universities of applied sciences, the Bachelor degree also focuses on profession and practice. The universities of teacher education follow an approach which is both scientific and practical.

University level second stage

Master of Arts/ Master of Science/...

Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations