New Zealand

Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


Higher education is delivered by a variety of providers: universities, institutes of technology and polytechnics, private training establishments, industry training organisations and wãnangas (Mãori centres of higher learning). All the providers operate in an environment of decentralised governance and management. Tertiary providers include both public and private institutions. New Zealand’s public providers operate under one national system. They include eight universities, twenty state owned institutes of technology and polytechnics, three wãnangas and forty industry training organisations. New Zealand also has eleven government agencies, such as the New Zealand Police and the New Zealand Army, recognised as government training establishments. There are between 700 and 800 registered private training establishments, including registered private English language schools.

Stages of studies

University level first stage

Bachelor’s degree /...

Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations