Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


Higher education is provided by military universities, universities and institutes. They are all State institutions. Most of them are under the control of the Ministry of Education.They are independent units. Each university has an academic and an administrative board. National policies are established by the Universities’ Central Council and the Council of University Academic Bodies which are chaired by the Minister of Education. All institutions are State-financed. A nominal fee is charged for studies.

Stages of studies

University level first stage

Bachelor’s degree

The Bachelor’s degree is obtained on successful completion of a four-year course (seven in Medicine, five in Computer Sciences).

University level second stage

Master’s degree

Master’s degrees are conferred after two years’ study beyond the Bachelor’s degree.

University level third stage

Doctorate degree

A Doctorate degree is conferred after four years’ further study and...

Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations