Reference work entry

Structure of Higher Education System


Higher education in Lesotho, as defined by the Higher Education Act, is a programme of education or training leading to a qualification higher then the Cambridge Overseas School Certificate (COSC) and accredited by the CHE; it is provided by both public and private institutions and denominationally-owned and administered institutions. There are also several private providers providing programmes validated by overseas institutions.

Stages of studies

University level first stage

Diploma/ Certificate, Bachelor’s degree

Diplomas/ Certificates are usually conferred after two to three years’ study. The Bachelor’s degree is conferred after four years.

University level second stage

Master’s degree

The Master’s degree is conferred in Arts (MA) and Science (MSc) after two years’ study beyond the Bachelor’s degree.

University level third stage


The Doctorate is conferred after three years’ study beyond the Master’s degree. Candidates must...

Copyright information

© International Association of Universities 2019

Personalised recommendations