African Union (AU)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

History. The Fourth Extraordinary Session of the Assembly of the Heads of State and Government of the Organization of African Unity (OAU) held in Sirté, Libya on 9 Sept. 1999 decided to establish an African Union. At Lomé, Togo on 11 July 2000 the OAU Assembly of the Heads of State and Government adopted the Constitutive Act of the African Union, which was later ratified by the required two-thirds of the member states of the Organization of African Unity (OAU); it came into force on 26 May 2001. The Lusaka Summit, in July 2001, gave a mandate to translate the transformation of the Organization of African Unity into the African Union, and on 9 July 2002 the Durban Summit, in South Africa, formally launched the African Union.

Members.Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon,...

Further Reading

  1. Makinda, Samuel M., and Okumu, F. Wafula, The African Union: Challenges of Globalization, Security, and Governance. 2007Google Scholar
  2. Miller-Jones, Edward R., The African Union: Aiming to Unify the Continent. 2010Google Scholar
  3. Muthri, Tim, Akopari, John and Ndinga-Mavumba, Angela, (eds.) The African Union and its Institutions. 2008Google Scholar
  4. New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, African Union Handbook 2016. 2016Google Scholar
  5. Welz, Martin, Integrating Africa: Decolonization’s Legacies, Sovereignty and the African Union. 2012Google Scholar

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2018

Personalised recommendations