League of Arab States

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

Origin. The League of Arab States (often referred to as the Arab League) is a voluntary association of sovereign Arab states, established by a Pact signed in Cairo on 22 March 1945 by the representatives of Egypt, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Lebanon, Jordan and Yemen. It seeks to promote closer ties among member states and to co-ordinate their economic, cultural and security policies with a view to developing collective co-operation, protecting national security and maintaining the independence and sovereignty of member states, in order to enhance the potential for joint Arab action across all fields.

Members. Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria*, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates and Republic of Yemen. Observers.Brazil, Eritrea, India and Venezuela. *Membership suspended since Nov. 2011 after calls for the government to end violence against civilian protesters by...

Further Reading

  1. Bouhamidi, Soumia, The Role of the League of Arab States: Mediating and Resolving Arab-Arab Conflicts. 2011Google Scholar
  2. Gomaa, A. M., The Foundation of the League of Arab States. 1977Google Scholar

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2018

Personalised recommendations