Arab Organization for Agricultural Development (AOAD)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

The AOAD was established in 1970 and commenced operations in 1972. Its aims are to develop natural and human resources in the agricultural sector and improve the means and methods of exploiting these resources on scientific bases; to increase agricultural productive efficiency and achieve agricultural integration between the Arab States and countries; to increase agricultural production with a view to achieving a higher degree of self-sufficiency; to facilitate the exchange of agricultural products between the Arab States and countries; to enhance the establishment of agricultural ventures and industries; and to increase the standards of living of the labour force engaged in the agricultural sector.

Organization. The structure comprises a General Assembly consisting of ministers of agriculture of the member states, an Executive Council, a Secretariat General, seven technical departments—Food Security, Human Resources Development, Water Resources, Studies and Research, Projects Execution, Technical Scientific Co-operation, and Financial Administrative Department—and two centres—the Arab Center for Agricultural Information and Documentation, and the Arab Bureau for Consultation and Implementation of Agricultural Projects.

Members. Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria*, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Republic of Yemen. *Membership suspended since Nov. 2011.

  • Official languages: Arabic (English and French used in translated documents and correspondence).

  • Headquarters: Street No. 7, Box 474, Al-Amarat, Khartoum, Sudan.

  • Website:

  • Director General: Dr Tariq Moosa al-Zadjali (Oman).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2018

Personalised recommendations