Millennium Development Goals

Reference work entry


The Millennium Development Goals are eight goals that 189 United Nations member states have agreed to try to achieve by the year 2015. The Millennium Development Goals derive from earlier “international development goals”, and were officially established at the Millennium Summit in 2000, where 189 world leaders adopted the United Nations Millennium Declaration, from which the eight-goal action-plan, the “Millennium Development Goals,” was particularly promoted. Goals are: eradicate extreme poverty and hunger, achieve universal primary education, promote gender equality and empower women, reduce child mortality, improve maternal health HIV/AIDS, malaria, and other diseases, ensure environmental sustainability and develop a global partnership for development.


Maternal Health Gender Equality Child Mortality Primary Education Environmental Sustainability 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media LLC 2010

Personalised recommendations