French-American-British Classification

Reference work entry


In 1982, the French–American–British Cooperative Group classified five subsets of myelodysplastic syndromes, based on blood and marrow morphology: refractory anemia, refractory anemia with excess of blasts, refractory anemia with excess of blasts in transformation, refractory anemia with ringed sideroblasts, and chronic myelomonocytic leukemia. The classification was revised in 1999 by the World Health Organization, which provides more homogenous categories.


Public Health World Health Organization Social Policy Myelodysplastic Syndrome Cooperative Group 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media LLC 2010

Personalised recommendations