Dictionary of Geotourism

2020 Edition
| Editors: Anze Chen, Young Ng, Erkuang Zhang, Mingzhong Tian

Datong Volcanic Cluster Landscape

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-13-2538-0_478
This volcanic cluster is located in Datong County and Yanggao County, Shanxi Province, and in Yangyuan County, Hebei Province. The total area is approximately 70 km 2 and the cluster contains 32 volcanoes. The eruptions date to the Middle and Upper Pleistocene (approximately 100,000–300,000 years ago). The strata below the volcanic cones and basalt layer belong to the Nihewan Formation, and the overlying strata are Malan loess. According to the contact relationship between the upper and lower strata, the Datong volcanic cluster is the product of several eruptions that occurred before the accumulation of the Malan loess. The rock types are porphyry basalt and alkaline basalt that contain olivine inclusions and pyroxene crystals. The volcanic cones are generally well preserved. Famous examples include the Haotian Mountain, Jin (Gold) Mountain, Hei (Black) Mountain, Mati (Horseshoe) Mountain, Liangwo (Wolf’s Den) Mountain and Gelao Mountain (Fig. 8).
This is a preview of subscription content, log in to check access.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020