Dictionary of Geotourism

2020 Edition
| Editors: Anze Chen, Young Ng, Erkuang Zhang, Mingzhong Tian

Classification of Landscape of Geological Heritage

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-13-2538-0_334

The classification of geological heritage allows better protection and utilisation of these geotourism resources. Geological heritage includes all of the non-renewable geological features that have formed over the long history of Earth’s evolution and the interactions between its endogenic and exogenic forces. In 1993, the UNESCO Geological and Palaeontological Working Group categorised geological heritage into thirteen types based on the geological characteristics: (1) palaeontology; (2) geomorphology; (3) palaeoenvironment; (4) petrology; (5) stratigraphy; (6) mineralogy; (7) tectonic geology; (8) economic geology; (9) historical geological sites; (10) plate tectonics; (11) ancient impact craters; (12) continental and marine geological features with global significance; and (13) submarine topography. The ‘National Geopark Planning and Technical Requirements’ published by China’s Ministry of Land and Resources classifies geological heritage into seven major groups, 25 classes and 56...

This is a preview of subscription content, log in to check access.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020