Dictionary of Geotourism

2020 Edition
| Editors: Anze Chen, Young Ng, Erkuang Zhang, Mingzhong Tian

World Heritage List

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-13-2538-0_2788

According to Article 11 of the World Heritage Convention, the World Heritage Committee should establish, keep up to date and publish a World Heritage List. This is a list of properties that form cultural and natural heritage, as defined in Articles 1 and 2 of the Convention, which are considered to have outstanding universal value in terms of such criteria. The World Heritage Committee held its second session in 1978 and published the first World Heritage List, which approved 12 heritage sites in seven countries as world heritage sites, including the Galápagos Islands in Ecuador and Yellowstone National Park in the U.S. Since then, the World Heritage Committee has updated the World Heritage List once every year. Currently, the World Heritage Committee is dedicated to establishing a globally representative, balanced and credible World Heritage List. In May 2018, the list contained a total of 1,073 world heritage sites, including 832 cultural heritage sites, 206 natural heritage sites...

This is a preview of subscription content, log in to check access.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020