Dictionary of Geotourism

2020 Edition
| Editors: Anze Chen, Young Ng, Erkuang Zhang, Mingzhong Tian

Western Mountain Huashan

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-13-2538-0_2761

This is one of China’s Wuyue (Five Peaks) and is also known as Taihuashan. It is located in southern Huayin City, Shaanxi Province, in the eastern Qinling Mountains. It is a fault-block mountain composed of Yanshan granite and includes five peaks: East (Chaoyang), West (Lotus), South (Falling Geese), North (Yuntai) and Middle (Young Lady). The South Peak has an elevation of 2,154.9 m and is the highest peak. The Weihe Plain lies to the north, and the relative height difference is more than 1,500 m. The mountain walls are steep and arduous. Huashan has long been a Taoist holy site, and the locals believed that the creator of Taoism, Laozi (Li Er), visited the mountain. There are numerous Taoist temples on the mountain, such as the famous Yuquan (Jade Spring) Court. Many past literati, such as Li Bai, Du Fu, Cui Hao, Han Yu and Jia Dao, visited and left many famous descriptive writings and stone carvings about this mountain.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020