Dictionary of Geotourism

2020 Edition
| Editors: Anze Chen, Young Ng, Erkuang Zhang, Mingzhong Tian

Three Parallel Rivers of Yunnan Protected Areas, China

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-13-2538-0_2471

This famous scenic area is located in northwestern Yunnan Province. It covers three autonomous prefecture cities, Diqing Tibetan, Nujiang Lisu and Lijiang, as well as eight counties with a total area of 8,609 km2. It contains iconic gorges that are deeply dissected along predominately N-S-trending faults. The three rivers, Nujiang, Lancang and Jinshajiang, flow parallel for more than 170 km without intersecting. The area contains eight scenic sites, namely, Gaoligong Mountain, Meili Snow Mountain, Haba Snow Mountain, Qianhu Mountain, Hongshan, Yunling, Laojunshan and Laowwoshan. The region is likely the world’s richest outdoor geological and geomorphological museum. The area is also an important conduit and refuge for the movement of species and has the richest wildlife community in Eurasia.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020