Dictionary of Geotourism

2020 Edition
| Editors: Anze Chen, Young Ng, Erkuang Zhang, Mingzhong Tian

Te Wahipounamu South West, New Zealand

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-13-2538-0_2431

This park is located in the southern part of the South Island and covers an area of 26,000 km2. The site is composed of three national parks on the World Heritage List, namely, Westland National Park, Mount Cook National Park and Fiordland National Park; thus it was renamed ‘Te Wahipounamu-South West New Zealand’. The landscape in the park has been shaped into fjords, rocky coasts, towering cliffs, lakes and waterfalls by successive glaciations. Two-thirds of the park is covered by southern beech and podocarps, some of which are more than 800 years old.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020