Dictionary of Geotourism

2020 Edition
| Editors: Anze Chen, Young Ng, Erkuang Zhang, Mingzhong Tian

National Park System, Tanzania

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-13-2538-0_1706

Preparations for building national parks in Tanzania began in the early twentieth century. In 1948, Tanzania announced the establishment of Serengeti National Park, and in 1951, it was included on the protection list as the first national park. There are now 16 national parks in Tanzania with a total area of more than 42,000 km2. In 1959, the National Park Service was set up to manage the national parks. The national parks operate as state-owned enterprises. There are no financial subsidies from the government, but all revenues from park operations are used to develop the parks. Arusha and Serengeti National Parks have gained worldwide reputation as locations for filming wildlife documentaries. Serengeti National Park and Kilimanjaro National Park were added to the World Heritage List in 1981 and 1987, respectively.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020