Dictionary of Geotourism

2020 Edition
| Editors: Anze Chen, Young Ng, Erkuang Zhang, Mingzhong Tian

National Park System, Sri Lanka

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-13-2538-0_1704

Sri Lanka established the Yala National Park and Wilpattu National Park in December 1938. Since then, the national park system has been expanded, and there are currently 20 national parks. Wilpattu National Park covers an area of 1,317 km2 and is Sri Lanka’s largest national park. Horagolla National Park, which was established in 2004, and Galwaysland National Park, which was established in 2006, are mainly protected by nature, and each covers less than 1 km2. As a tropical island nation in the Indian Ocean, Sri Lanka’s national park system covers a large area of tropical rainforests and is a top choice for eco-tourism such as jungle adventures, wildlife tourism, and outdoor photography. The Forest Conservation Department is in charge of the national parks in the country.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020