Dictionary of Geotourism

2020 Edition
| Editors: Anze Chen, Young Ng, Erkuang Zhang, Mingzhong Tian

Mount Yao Geopark, Henan

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-13-2538-0_1635

This geopark is located in Lushan County, Pingdingshan, Henan Province. The geopark has an area of 156 km2, and most of the geological features are concentrated in an area of 111 km2. It became a national geopark in 2011. The geopark has attractive geology and geomorphology. It preserves the sedimentary strata of the Xionger, Luoyu, Ruyang and Jiunvdong groups and showcases the Zhengjiazhuang independent unit, Heyu superunit, Shenlin superunit, the Four Tree sequence and the Huangtugang independent intrusive body. The geopark also has five major groups of hot springs, including Shangtang, Zhongtang, Xiatang, Wentang and Jianchang. The natural landscapes of Mount Shiren and Mount Shengrenduo are also attractive, which brings added value to research and science popularisation tourism.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020