Dictionary of Geotourism

2020 Edition
| Editors: Anze Chen, Young Ng, Erkuang Zhang, Mingzhong Tian

Kluane/Wrangell-St. Elias/Glacier Bay/Tatshenshini-Alsek, Canada and U.S.A.

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-13-2538-0_1290

Kluane/Wrangell-St. Elias/Glacier Bay/Tatshenshini-Alsek is the first cross-border heritage site added to the World Heritage List after the World Heritage Convention took effect. After extensions in 1992 and 1994, the site now comprises four federal and provincial reserves, namely, Kluane National Park (Yukon Territory, Canada), Tatshenshini-Alsek Provincial Park (British Columbia, Canada), Wrangell-St. Elias National Park and Preserve (Alaska, U.S.) and Glacier Bay National Park and Preserve (Alaska, U.S.). These parks have a core protection area of 98,391 km2 and form the largest land reserve system in the world heritage network. The spectacular natural landscapes protect the largest non-polar icefield in the world and are home to many grizzly bears, caribou and Dall’s sheep.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020