Dictionary of Geotourism

2020 Edition
| Editors: Anze Chen, Young Ng, Erkuang Zhang, Mingzhong Tian

Historical Maps of Consecutive Dynasties

Reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-13-2538-0_1062

This is a collection of historical maps compiled and edited by Shoujing Yang (1839–1915). The first volume was issued and circulated in 1906, and the final volume was completed in 1911. The map collection comprises 34 volumes, which are divided into 44 series according to each country or dynasty consecutively from the Spring and Autumn Period (770–476 BC) to the end of the Qing Dynasty (1911); thus, it is also known as ‘Historical Geography Maps of Changes and Developments’. The names of places in the Spring and Autumn Period map are those from the historical book ‘Zuo Zhuan’ (i.e., ‘Commentary of Zuo’), while the names in the Warring States map are those stated in the book ‘Zhan Guo Ce’ (i.e., ‘The Intrigues of the Warring States’), and the maps of the Han Dynasty and after are based on the ‘Treatise on Geography’ of each dynasty or country; the place names are those above the county level and the first level administrative divisions. All of the famous mountains and major rivers are...

This is a preview of subscription content, log in to check access.

Copyright information

© Springer Nature Singapore Pte Ltd. 2020