Hinduism and Tribal Religions

Living Edition
| Editors: Pankaj Jain, Rita Sherma, Madhu Khanna

Atharva Veda

  • R. P. SinghEmail author
Living reference work entry
DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/978-94-024-1036-5_154-1

The ancient Indian civilization is primarily illustrious in the world history for its precious contribution of four Vedas: the Rigveda, Sama Veda, the Yajur Veda, and the Atharva Veda. The knowledge of Vedas was inherited from Guru to Shishya (disciple), down the ages, in the tradition of hearing, memorizing, and transferring the text, and for this feature these scriptures are called Shruti (something that is heard) too. The Vedas are believed to be the words of the Almighty and store the canons of Hindu religion, philosophy, and culture in them.

Sanskrit expression Atharva Veda consists of two terms – atharvanas and veda – denoting the storehouse of knowledge. Expressed in the Vedic Sanskrit, the Atharva Veda comprises 730 hymns and 6,000 mantras, arranged in 20 books. Approximately a sixth of its content is borrowed from the Rigveda, which is the oldest among the Vedas. The Rigveda, the Taittiriya Brahmana (, the Aitareya Brahmana(5.32–33), and several other texts of Vedic...

This is a preview of subscription content, log in to check access.


  1. 1.
    Olson C (2007) The many colors of Hinduism. Rutgers University Press, New Brunswick, p. 13Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    Patton L (2004) Veda and Upanishad. In: Mittal S, Thursby G (eds) The Hindu World. Routledge, New York, p. 38Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    Zysk K (1993) Religious medicine: the history and evolution of Indian medicine. Routledge, New York, x–xiiGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Nature B.V. 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Department of English and Modern European LanguagesUniversity of LucknowLucknowIndia