Central American Integration System (SICA)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

The Central American Integration System (SICA) was established in Dec. 1991 and became operational in Feb. 1993. SICA is the successor body to the Organization of Central American States, which was suspended in 1973 after a war between El Salvador and Honduras (which were both member countries). It aims to achieve political, economic, social, cultural and ecological integration in Central America and transform the area into a region of peace, liberty, democracy and development.

Members. Belize, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama.

Activities. The Framework Treaty on Democratic Security in Central America, signed in 1995, seeks to achieve a proper ‘balance of forces’ in the region, intensify the fight against trafficking of drugs and arms, and reintegrate refugees and displaced persons.

  • Headquarters: Final Bulevar Cancillería, Distrito El Espino, Ciudad Merliot, Antiguo Cuscatlán, La Libertad, El Salvador.

  • Website:

  • Email:

  • Secretary-General: Vinicio Cerezo Arévalo (Guatemala).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations