Association of Caribbean States (ACS)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

The Convention establishing the ACS was signed on 24 July 1994 in Cartagena de Indias, Colombia, with the aim of promoting consultation, co-operation and concerted action among all the countries of the Caribbean, comprising 25 full member states and three (now eight) associate members.

Members. Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela.

Associate members. Aruba, Curaçao, France (on behalf of French Guiana, St Barthélemy and St Martin), Guadeloupe, Martinique, Netherlands (on behalf of Bonaire, Saba and Sint Eustatius), Sint Maarten, and the Turks and Caicos Islands.

The CARICOM Secretariat, the Latin American Economic System (SELA), the Central American Integration System (SICA) and the Permanent Secretariat of the General Treaty on Central American Economic Integration (SIECA) were declared Founding Observers of the ACS in 1996. The United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) and the Caribbean Tourism Organization (CTO) were admitted as Founding Observers in 2000 and 2001 respectively.

Functions. The objectives of the ACS are enshrined in the Convention and are based on the following: the strengthening of the regional co-operation and integration process, with a view to creating an enhanced economic space in the region; preserving the environmental integrity of the Caribbean Sea which is regarded as the common patrimony of the peoples of the region; and promoting the sustainable development of the Greater Caribbean. Its current focal areas are trade, transport, sustainable tourism and natural disasters.

Organization. The main organs of the Association are the Ministerial Council and the Secretariat. There are Special Committees on: Trade Development and External Economic Relations; Sustainable Tourism; Transport; Natural Disasters; Budget and Administration. There is also a Council of National Representatives of the Special Fund responsible for overseeing resource mobilization efforts and project development.

  • Headquarters: ACS Secretariat, 5–7 Sweet Briar Rd, St Clair, PO Box 660, Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago.

  • Website:

  • Email:

  • Secretary-General: Dr June Soomer (St Lucia).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations