Tripartite Free Trade Area (TFTA)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

The Tripartite Free Trade Area is a free trade agreement negotiated by the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), the Southern African Development Community (SADC) and the East African Community (EAC). It was launched in June 2015 by 26 African nations. The accord envisages a trading block of over 600m. people with a combined GDP of some US$1trn. As of Feb. 2018, 22 nations had signed the agreement.

Members (subject to ratification). Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Libya, Madagascar, Malaŵi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

  • Address: c/o TradeMark Southern Africa, 1st Floor Building 41, CSIR Campus, Meiring Naude Rd, Brummeria, Pretoria 0001, South Africa.

  • Email:

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations