Intergovernmental Authority on Development

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

The Intergovernmental Authority on Development was created on 21 March 1996 and has its origins in the Intergovernmental Authority on Drought and Development, which had been established in 1986. It has three priority areas of co-operation: conflict prevention, management and humanitarian affairs; infrastructure development; food security and environment protection.

Members. Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Uganda.

  • Headquarters: Ave. Georges Clemenceau, PO Box 2653, Djibouti, Republic of Djibouti.

  • Website:

  • Executive Secretary: Mahboub Maalim (Kenya).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations