Central Bank of West African States (BCEAO)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

Established in 1962, the Central Bank of West African States (Banque Centrale des Etats de l’Afrique de l’Ouest) is the common central bank of the eight member states that form the West African Monetary Union (WAMU). It has the sole right of currency issue throughout the Union territory and is responsible for the pooling of the Union’s foreign exchange reserve; the management of the monetary policy of the member states; the keeping of the accounts of the member states treasury; and the definition of the banking law applicable to banks and financial establishments.

Members. Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Togo.

  • Official language: French.

  • Headquarters: Avenue Abdoulaye Fadiga, 3108 Dakar, Senegal.

  • Website:

  • Governor: Tiémoko Meyliet Koné (Côte d’Ivoire).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations