Nobel Prizes

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

When the scientist, industrialist and inventor Alfred Nobel died in 1896, he made provision in his will for his fortune to be used for prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature and Peace. The Norwegian Nobel Committee awards the Nobel Peace Prize, and the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm (founded 1900; Mailing address: Box 5232, SE-10245, Stockholm, Sweden) awards the other four prizes plus the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel (often referred to as the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences). The Prize Awarding Ceremony takes place on 10 Dec., the anniversary of Nobel’s death. The last ten recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize, worth 9m. Sw. kr. in 2017 (up from 8m. Sw. kr. for the previous five years), are:

2008 – Martti Ahtisaari (Finland) for his important efforts, on several continents and over more than three decades, to resolve international conflicts.

2009 – Barack Obama (USA) for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and co-operation between peoples.

2010 – Liu Xiaobo (China) for his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China.

2011 – Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf (Liberia), Leymah Gbowee (Liberia) and Tawakkul Karman (Yemen) for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work.

2012 – the European Union (EU) for its contribution for over six decades to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights.

2013 – the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) for its extensive work to eliminate chemical weapons.

2014 – Kailash Satyarthi (India) and Malala Yousafzai (Pakistan) for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.

2015 – National Dialogue Quartet (Tunisia) for its decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia in the wake of the Jasmine Revolution of 2011.

2016 – Juan Manuel Santos (Colombia) for his resolute efforts to bring the country’s more than 50-year-long civil war to an end.

2017 – the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) for its work to draw attention to the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of any use of nuclear weapons and for its ground-breaking efforts to achieve a treaty-based prohibition of such weapons.

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations