Nordic Council

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

Founded in 1952 as a co-operative link between the parliaments and governments of the Nordic states. The co-operation focuses on Intra-Nordic co-operation, co-operation with Europe/EU/EEA and co-operation with the adjacent areas. The Council consists of 87 elected MPs and the committees meet several times a year, as required. Every year the Nordic Council grants prizes for literature, music, nature and environment.

Members. Denmark (including the Faroe Islands and Greenland), Finland (including Åland), Iceland, Norway, Sweden.

  • Address: Ved Stranden 18, DK-1061 Copenhagen K, Denmark.

  • Website:

  • Email:

  • President: Michael Tetzschner (Norway).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations