Central European Initiative (CEI)

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

In Nov. 1989 Austria, Hungary, Italy and the then Yugoslavia met on Italy’s initiative to form an economic and political co-operation group in the region.

Members. Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine.

  • Address: Executive Secretariat, Via Genova 9, 34121 Trieste, Italy.

  • Website:

  • Email:

  • Secretary General: Giovanni Caracciolo di Vietri (Italy).

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations