Antarctic Treaty

Reference work entry
Part of the The Statesman's Yearbook book series (SYBK)

Antarctica is an island continent some 15·5m. sq. km in area which lies almost entirely within the Antarctic Circle. Its surface is composed of an ice sheet over rock, and it is uninhabited except for research and other workers in the course of duty. It is in general ownerless: for countries with territorial claims, see ARGENTINA; AUSTRALIA: Australian Antarctic Territory; CHILE; FRANCE: Southern and Antarctic Territories; NEW ZEALAND: Ross Dependency; NORWAY: Queen Maud Land; UNITED KINGDOM: British Antarctic Territory.

12 countries which had maintained research stations in Antarctica during International Geophysical Year, 1957–58 (Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Chile, France, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, South Africa, the USSR, the UK and the USA) signed the Antarctic Treaty (Washington Treaty) on 1 Dec. 1959. Austria, Belarus, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Colombia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India,...

Further Reading

  1. Elliott, L. M., International Environmental Politics: Protecting the Antarctic. 1994Google Scholar
  2. Triggs, Gillian D. (ed.) The Antarctic Treaty Regime: Law, Environment and Resources. 2009Google Scholar

Copyright information

© The Author(s) (if applicable) and The Author(s) 2019

Personalised recommendations