Official language: English.

Headquarters: Bank of Guyana Building, PO Box 10827, Georgetown, Guyana.

Website: http://www.caricom.org

Secretary-General: Edwin W. Carrington (Trinidad and Tobago).

Publications. CARICOM Perspective (1 a year); Annual Report; Treaty Establishing the Caribbean Community; Caribbean Trade and Investment Report 2000.

Further Reading

Parry, J. H., et. al. A Short History of the West Indies. Rev. ed. London, 1987

CARIBBEAN DEVELOPMENT BANK (CDB)

Established in 1969 by 16 regional and two non-regional members. Membership is open to all states and territories of the region and to non-regional states which are members of the UN or its Specialized Agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency.

Members-regional countries and territories: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Colombia, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Mexico, Montserrat, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, Venezuela. Non-regional countries: Canada, China, Germany, Italy, United Kingdom.

Function. To contribute to the economic growth and development of the member countries of the Caribbean and promote economic co-operation and integration among them, with particular regard to the needs of the less developed countries.

Headquarters: PO Box 408, Wildey, St Michael, Barbados.

Website: http://www.caribank.org

e-mail: info@caribank.org

President: Dr Compton Bourne (Guyana).

Publications. Annual Report; Basic Information; Caribbean Development Bank: Its Purpose, Role and Functions; Summary of Proceedings of Annual Meetings of Board of Governors; Statements by the President; Financial Policies; Guidelines for Procurement; Procedures for the Selection and Engagement of Consultants by Recipients of CDB Financing; Special Development Fund Rules; Sector Policy Papers; CDB News (newsletter).

CENTRAL AMERICAN BANK FOR ECONOMIC INTEGRATION (BCIE)

Established in 1960, the Bank is the financial institution of the Central American Economic Integration and aims to implement the economic integration and balanced economic growth of the member states.

Members. (Regional) Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua. (Non-regional) Argentina, China, Colombia, Mexico, Spain.

Official languages: Spanish, English.

Headquarters: Apartado Postal 772, Tegucigalpa, DC, Honduras. Website: http://www.bcie.org

President: Dr Harry Brautigam (Nicaragua).

B. Turner (Ed.), The Statesman's Yearbook

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2005