DANUBE COMMISSION

EUROPEAN BROADCASTING UNION (EBU)

Founded in 1950 by western European radio and television broadcasters the EBU is the world's largest professional association of national broadcasters, with 72 active members in 52 countries of Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, and 50 associate members in 30 countries elsewhere in Africa, the Americas and Asia.

The EBU merged with the OIRT, its counterpart in eastern Europe, in 1993. The EBU's Eurovision Operations Department has a permanent network offering 50 digital channels on five satellites. Two satellite channels also relay radio concerts, operas, sports fixtures and major news events for Euroradio.

Headquarters: Ancienne Route 17, CH-1218 Grand-Saconnex, Geneva, Switzerland.

Websites: www.ebu.ch; www.eurovision.net

e-mail: ebu@ebu.ch

BLACK SEA ECONOMIC CO-OPERATION GROUP (BSEC)

Founded in 1992 to promote economic co-operation in the Black Sea region. Priority areas of interest include: trade and economic development; banking and finance; communications; energy; transport; agriculture and agro-industry; healthcare and pharmaceutics; environmental protection; tourism; science and technology; exchange of statistical data and economic information; combating organized crime, illicit trafficking of drugs, weapons and radioactive materials, all acts of terrorism and illegal immigration.

Members. Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine.

Observers. Austria, Egypt, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Poland, Slovakia, Tunisia.

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Black Sea Economic Co-operation is the BSEC parliamentary dimension. The BSEC Business Council is composed of representatives from the business circles of the member states. The Black Sea Trade and Development Bank is considered as the financial pillar of the BSEC. There is also an International Center for Black Sea Studies and a Coordination Center for the Exchange of Statistical Data and Economic Information.

Headquarters: İstinye Cad., Müşir Fuad Paşa Yalısı, Eski Tersane 80860, İstinye, İstanbul, Turkey.

Website: http://www.bsec.gov.tr

Secretary-General: Tedo Japaridze (Georgia).

DANUBE COMMISSION

History and Membership. The Danube Commission was constituted in 1949 according to the Convention regarding the regime of navigation on the Danube signed in Belgrade on 18 Aug. 1948. The Belgrade Convention, amended by the Additional Protocol of 26 March 1998, declares that navigation on the Danube from Kelheim to the Black Sea (with access to the sea through the Sulina arm and the Sulina Canal) is equally free and open to the nationals, merchant shipping and merchandise of all states as to harbour and navigation fees as well as conditions of merchant navigation. The Commission holds annual sessions and is composed of one representative from each of its 11 member countries: Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovakia and Ukraine.