## INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS

formulation of the general development policy of the Basin; the elaboration and implementation of an integrated development plan of the Basin; the initiation and monitoring of an orderly and rational regional policy for the utilization of the waters of the Niger River; the design and conduct of studies, researches and surveys; the formulation of plans, the construction, exploitation and maintenance of structure, and the elaboration of projects.

Members: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea, Mali, Niger, Nigeria.

Official languages: English, French.

Website: http://www.abn.ne

Headquarters: BP 729, Niamey, Niger. Executive Secretary: Muhammad Bello Tuga.

## EAST AFRICAN COMMUNITY

The East African Community (EAC) was formally established on 30 Nov. 1999 with the signing in Arusha, Tanzania of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community. The Treaty envisages the establishment of a Customs Union, as the entry point of the Community, a Common Market, subsequently a Monetary Union and ultimately a Political Federation of the East African States. In Nov. 2003 the EAC partner states signed a Protocol on the Establishment of the East African Customs Union, which is scheduled to take effect in the second half of 2004.

Members: Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda.

Website: http://66.110.17.178

Headquarters: PO Box 1096, Arusha, Tanzania. Secretary General: Nuwe Amanya-Mushega (Uganda).

## INTERGOVERNMENTAL AUTHORITY ON **DEVELOPMENT**

The Intergovernmental Authority on Development was created on 21 March 1996 and has its origins in the Intergovernmental Authority on Drought and Development, which had been established in 1986. It has three priority areas of co-operation: conflict prevention, management and humanitarian affairs; infrastructure development; food security and environment protection.

Members: Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, Sudan, Uganda.

Website: http://www.igad.org Headquarters: PO Box 2653, Djibouti, Republic of Djibouti. Executive Secretary: Dr Attalla Hamad Bashir (Sudan).

## WORLD COUNCIL OF CHURCHES

The World Council of Churches was formally constituted on 23 Aug. 1948 in Amsterdam. Today, member churches number over 340 from more than 120 countries.