INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS

AFRICAN EXPORT-IMPORT BANK (AFREXIMBANK)

Established in 1987 under the auspices of the African Development Bank to facilitate, promote and expand intra-African and extra-African trade. Membership is made up of three categories of shareholders: Class 'A' Shareholders consisting of African governments, African central banks and sub-regional and regional financial institutions and economic organizations; Class 'B' Shareholders consisting of African public and private financial institutions; and Class 'C' Shareholders consisting of international financial institutions, economic organizations and non-African states, banks, financial institutions and public and private investors.

Official languages. English, French, Arabic, Portuguese.

Headquarters: World Trade Center, 1191 Corniche El-Nil, Cairo 11221, Egypt.

Website: http://www.afreximbank.com

President and Chairman to the Board: Christopher C. Edordu.

ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF CENTRAL AFRICAN STATES (CEEAC)

The Economic Community of Central African States (Communauté Economique des Etats de l'Afrique Centrale) was established in 1983 to promote regional economic co-operation and to establish a Central African Common Market.

Members: Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Rwanda, São Tomé e Príncipe. *Observer:* Angola.

Headquarters: BP 2112, Libreville, Gabon.

ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES (ECOWAS)

Founded in 1975 as a regional common market, and now aiming to operate a single currency zone by 2004, ECOWAS later also became a political forum involved in the promotion of a democratic environment and the pursuit of fundamental human rights. In July 1993 it revised its treaty to assume responsibility for the regulation of regional armed conflicts, acknowledging the inextricable link between development and peace and security. Thus it now has a new role in conflict management and prevention through its Mediation and Security Council, which monitors the moratorium on the export, import and manufacture of light weapons and ammunition. However, it still retains a military arm, ECOMOG. It is also involved in the war against drug abuse and illicit drug trafficking.

Members. Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo.

Organization. It meets at yearly summits which rotate in the different capitals of member states. The institution is governed by the Council of Ministers, and has a secretariat in Abuja which is run by an Executive Secretary.

Official languages. English, French, Portuguese.

Headquarters: 60 Yakubu Gowon Crescent, Asokoro, Abuja, Nigeria.

Website: http://www.ecowas.int

e-mail: info@ecowasmail.net

Executive Secretary: Lansana Kouyaté (Guinea).

106

B. Turner (Ed.), The Statesman's Yearbook

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2003