## INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS

*Members.* Algeria, Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Republic of Yemen.

*Official Languages:* Arabic (English and French used in translated documents and correspondence).

Headquarters: Street No. 7, Al-Amarat, Khartoum, Sudan. Director General: Salem Al-Lozi.

## AFRICAN UNION (AU)

*History.* The African Union came into existence on 26 May 2001 following its ratification by the required two-thirds of Organization of African Unity (OAU) member states. On 25 May 1963 the heads of state or government of 32 African countries, at a conference in Addis Ababa, had signed a charter establishing an Organization of African Unity. Membership comprises 53 of the 54 African countries. The only African state that is not a member of the African Union (and was not a member of the OAU) is Morocco, which withdrew in 1985 following admittance of the disputed state of Western Sahara as a member in 1982. The new African Union harks back to pan-African aspirations of the 1950s, but in its current form is the brainchild of Libyan leader Muammar Qadhafi. African leaders agreed on the creation of the African Union at the conclusion of a two-day extraordinary meeting of the OAU held in Sirte, Libya in March 2001. The OAU dissolved itself on 25 May 2001 to allow for the creation of the African Union.

*Aims.* The Union will be aiming to unify the 53 African member states politically, socially and economically and will be loosely modelled on the European Union.

*Activities.* After the AU has become fully operational in 2002, it will be working towards having a pan-African parliament, an economic community, a central bank and a court of justice.

*Official languages.* African languages, Arabic, English, French and Portuguese. *Headquarters:* POB 3243, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. *Secretary-General:* Amara Essy (Côte d'Ivoire).

## AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT BANK

Established in 1964 to promote economic and social development in the region.

Regional Members. (53) Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Rep. of), Congo (Dem. Rep. of), Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malaŵi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tomé e Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa (Rep. of), Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

*Non-regional Members*. (24) Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Kuwait, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK, USA.

Within the ADB Group is the African Development Fund, established in 1972, which provides development finance on concessional terms to low-income Regional Member Countries which are unable to borrow on the non-concessional terms of the African Development Bank. Membership of the Fund is made up of 25 non-African State Participants, the African Development Bank and the Nigerian Trust Fund.

102