INTER-AMERICAN DEVELOPMENT BANK (IDB)

The IDB, the oldest and largest regional multilateral development institution, was established in 1959 to help accelerate economic and social development in Latin America and the Caribbean. The Bank's original membership included 19 Latin American and Caribbean countries and the USA. Today, membership totals 46 nations, including non-regional members.

Members. Argentina, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croata, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Finland, France, Germany, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Mexico, the Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, UK, USA, Uruguay, Venezuela. In carrying out its mission, the Bank has mobilized some US\$206,000m. for project financing, and its lending has increased dramatically from the US\$294m. approved in 1961 to US\$6,700m. in 1996.

Current lending priorities include poverty reduction and social equity, modernization and integration, and the environment. The Bank has a Fund for Special Operations for lending on concessional terms for projects in countries classified as economically less developed. An additional facility, the Multilateral Investment Fund (MIF), was created in 1992 to help promote and accelerate investment reforms and private-sector development throughout the region.

The Board of Governors is the Bank's highest authority. Governors are usually Ministers of Finance, Presidents of Central Banks or officers of comparable rank. The IDB has country offices in each of its borrowing countries, and in Paris and Tokyo.

Official languages: English, French, Portuguese, Spanish. Headquarters: 1300 New York Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C., 20577, USA Website: http://www.iadb.org President: Enrique V. Iglesias (Uruguay).

SECRETARIAT FOR CENTRAL AMERICAN ECONOMIC INTEGRATION (SIECA)

SIECA (Secretaría de Integración Económica Centroamericana) was established in 1952 when the five member states formed a Committee for Economic Co-operation of the Central American Isthmus. The basic instrument of the programme is the General Treaty of Central American Economic Integration, signed in Dec. 1960.

Members. Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua. Observer: Panama.

Official language: Spanish. *Headquarters:* 4a Avenida 10–25, Zona 14, Ciudad de Guatemala, Guatemala. *Website:* http://www.sieca.org.gt *Secretary-General:* Haroldo Rodas Melgar.

CENTRAL AMERICAN COMMON MARKET (CACM)

In Dec. 1960 El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua concluded the General Treaty of Central American Economic Integration under the auspices of the

81

B. Turner (Ed.), The Statesman's Yearbook © Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2002