COUNCIL OF BALTIC SEA STATES

Address: Executive Secretariat, Via Genova 9, 34132 Trieste, Italy. *Website:* http://www.cei-es.org *e-mail:* cei-es@cei-es.org

THE NORDIC COUNCIL

Founded in 1952 as a co-operative link between the parliaments and governments of the Nordic states. The co-operation focuses on Intra-Nordic co-operation, co-operation with Europe/EU/EEA and co-operation with the adjacent areas. The Council consists of 87 elected MPs and the committees meet several times a year, as required. Every year the Nordic Council grants prizes for literature, music, nature and environment.

Members. Denmark (including the Faroe Islands and Greenland), Finland (including Åland), Iceland, Norway, Sweden.

Address: Postboks 3043, DK-1021 Copenhagen K, Denmark. *Website:* http://www.norden.org/ *President:* Svend Erik Hovmand (Denmark).

NORDIC DEVELOPMENT FUND (NDF)

Established in 1989, the NDF is a development aid organization of the five Nordic countries, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden. NDF capital totals SDR 515m. and EUR 330m. Credits are offered to under-developed countries, with African, Asian and Latin American countries taking priority.

Address: Fabianinkatu 34, PO Box 185, FIN-00171 Helsinki, Finland. Website: http://www.ndf.fi e-mail: info.ndf@ndf.fi President: Jens Lund Sørensen.

NORDIC INVESTMENT BANK (NIB)

The Nordic Investment Bank, which commenced operations in August 1976, is the joint international financial institution of the Nordic countries. It finances investment projects and project exports both within and outside the Nordic area. Priority is given to investment and environmental loans for projects in the Baltic states, Poland and northwest Russia.

Address: Fabianinkatu 34, PO Box 249, FIN-00171 Helsinki, Finland. Website: http://www.nibank.org President: Jón Sigurdsson.

COUNCIL OF THE BALTIC SEA STATES

Established in 1992 in Copenhagen following a conference of ministers of foreign affairs.

Members. Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia, Sweden and the European Commission.

71

B. Turner (Ed.), The Statesman's Yearbook 2002

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2001