DANUBE COMMISSION

Committee of Senior Officials meets once a month. Three working groups meet at regular intervals. A number of action programmes have already been adopted and are now implemented.

CBSS Secretariat: Strömsborg, PO Box 2010, S-103 11 Stockholm, Sweden. Website: http://www.baltinfo.org Director of the Secretariat: Jacek Starosciak.

EUROPEAN BROADCASTING UNION (EBU)

The EBU is the world's largest professional association of national broadcasters with 69 active members in 50 European and Mediterranean countries and 49 associate members in 30 countries elsewhere in Africa, the Americas and Asia. One of the EBU's best-known television activities is Eurovision which has a permanent network comprising 20 channels on a Eutelsat satellite, plus 55,000 km of permanently rented terrestrial circuits.

Headquarters: 17A Ancienne Route, CH-1218 Grand Saconnex, Geneva, Switzerland.

Website: http://www.ebu.ch

BLACK SEA ECONOMIC CO-OPERATION GROUP (BSEC)

Founded in 1992 to promote economic co-operation in the region. Priority areas of interest include: transport and communications, energy, environmental protection, tourism, trade and industrial co-operation, agriculture and agro-industry, healthcare and pharmaceutics, science and technology, finance administration.

Members. Albania, Armenia. Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine.

Observers. Austria, Egypt, Israel, Italy, Poland, Slovakia, Tunisia.

There is a *BSEC Business Council*, and a *Black Sea Trade and Development Bank* was established in Thessalonika, Greece, in 1993, with a founding capital of US\$300m. In May 1994 members met to try and create a mechanism for the solution of conflicts in the region, under the auspices of the Group's Interparliamentary Legal and Political Affairs Committee.

Headquarters: İstinye Cad., Müşir Fuad Paşa Yalısı, Eski Tersane 80860, İstinye, İstanbul, Turkey.

Secretary-General: Vassil Baytchev (Russia).

DANUBE COMMISSION

History and Membership. The Danube Commission was constituted in 1949 according to the Convention on the regulation of shipping on the Danube signed in Belgrade on 18 Aug. 1948. The Belgrade Convention, amended by the Additional

79