COMESA

Further Reading

El-Ayouty, Y. (ed.) The Organization of African Unity after Thirty Years. New York, 1994 Harris, G., The Organization of African Unity [Bibliography]. Oxford and New Brunswick (NJ), 1994

AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT BANK

Established to promote economic and social development in the region.

Regional Members. (53) Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Rep. of), Congo (Dem. Rep. of), Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Madagascar, Malaŵi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tomé e Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa (Rep. of), Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Non-regional Members. (25) Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Korea (Rep. of), Kuwait, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland. UK, United Arab Emirates, USA.

Headquarters: 01 BP 1387, Abidjan 01, Côte d'Ivoire. Website: http://www.afdb.org e-mail: Afdb@afdb.org

ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES (ECOWAS)

Founded 1975 as a regional common market, it has now become involved in political disputes, and in 1993 amended its charter to assume responsibility for the regulation of regional armed conflicts. Its military arm is Ecomog.

Members. Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo.

Organization. It meets at yearly summits which rotate in the different capitals of member states. There is a secretariat in Abuja.

Headquarters: 60 Yakubu Gowon Crescent, Asokoro, Abuja, Nigeria.

COMMON MARKET FOR EASTERN AND SOUTHERN AFRICA (COMESA)

COMESA is a grouping of 21 countries who are committed, over the long term, to the creation of a Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa. It was established in 1994 as a building block for the African Economic Community and replaces the

101