INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS

national or regional policy issues and to note changes to the Financial and Staff Regulations approved by the CRGA, the Committee of Representatives of Governments and Administrations. It meets every 2 years. The CRGA meets once a year and is the principal decision-making organ of the Community. There is also a regional office in Fiji Islands.

Headquarters: BP D5, 98848 Nouméa Cedex, New Caledonia.

Website: http://www.spc.org.nc

e-mail: spc@spc.org.nc

Director-General: Robert Dun (Australia).

SOUTH PACIFIC FORUM (SPF)

The South Pacific Forum held its first meeting of Heads of Government in New Zealand in 1971. The SPF provides an opportunity for informal discussions to be held on a wide range of issues. It meets annually or as necessary. The Forum has no written constitution or international agreement governing its activities nor any formal rules relating to its purpose, membership or conduct of meeting. Decisions are reached by consensus. In Oct. 1994, the Forum was granted observer status to the UN.

Members. (1998) Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji Islands, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Functions. The Secretariat's mission is to enhance the economic and social well-being of the South Pacific peoples, in support of the efforts of the national governments. Its particular responsibility is to facilitate, develop and maintain co-operation and consultation between and among its 16 member countries. Its mandate includes the identification of opportunities for the modification of trade patterns; investigation of development methods which are in keeping with the concept of regional enterprise and free and open trade; establishment of an advisory service on technical assistance, aid and investment finance; provision of economic expertise and assistance.

Activities. The Secretariat has 4 core divisions: Trade and Investment; Political and International Affairs; Development and Economic Policy; Corporate Services. Its focus is on providing a policy advisory role on issues which cannot be fully assessed on a national basis, and on providing high-level policy advice on trade and investment to members.

The South Pacific Nuclear-Free Zone Treaty (of Rarotonga) was signed in 1985, prohibiting the acquisition, stationing or testing of nuclear weapons in the region. The major nuclear powers were to sign a protocol to the treaty. Russia and China signed in 1987; France, the UK and USA did not. In July 1995, when the French government decided to resume testing in French Polynesia, pressure was brought to bear on the 3 governments to sign. All 3 announced their intention to accede by mid-1996. In Jan. 1996 France announced its intention to cut short its programme, and all 3 countries signed up to the Treaty in March 1996.

Organization. The South Pacific Bureau for Economic Co-operation (SPEC) was established by the Agreement of 17 April 1973 at the 4th meeting of the SPF. In 1988 at its 19th meeting, SPEC was reorganized and renamed the South Pacific Forum Secretariat. The Secretariat has been headed (since 1977) by a Secretary-General and a Deputy Secretary-General. They form the Executive. It is governed by an executive committee, the Forum Officials Committee, which acts as intermediary between it and the Forum.

Headquarters: Ratu Sukuna Road, Suva, Fiji Islands.

Secretary-General: Ieremia Tabai.