CARICOM

Organization. The member states' foreign ministers form a Council responsible for leading the integration process, the chairmanship of which rotates every 6 months. The permanent executive body is the Common Market Group of member states, which takes decisions by consensus. There is a Trade Commission and Joint Parliamentary Commission, an arbitration tribunal whose decisions are binding on member countries, and a secretariat in Montevideo.

Headquarters: Rincon 575 P12, 11000 Montevideo, Uruguay. Administrative Secretary: Manuel Olarreaga.

ASSOCIATION OF CARIBBEAN STATES (ACS)

The Convention establishing the ACS was signed on 24 July 1994 in Cartagena de Indias, Colombia, with the aim of promoting integration among all the countries of the Caribbean, comprising 25 full Member States and a number of potential Associate Members.

Members. Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, St Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela.

St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela. The CARICOM Secretariat, the Latin American Economic System (SELA), the Central American Integration System (SICA) and the Permanent Secretariat of the General Agreement on Central American Economic Integration (SIECA) were declared Founding Observers of the ACS.

Functions. The ACS is an organization for consultation, co-operation and concerted action in the context of economic integration and functional co-operation. Its objectives are enshrined in the Convention and are focused around the following: the strengthening of the regional co-operation and integration process, with a view to creating an enhanced economic space in the region; preserving the environmental integrity of the Caribbean Sea which is regarded as the common patrimony of the peoples of the region; and promoting the sustainable development of the Great Caribbean.

Organization. The main organs of the Association are the Ministerial Council and the Secretariat. There are also Special Committees on: Trade Development and External Economic Relations; Protection and Conservation of the Environment and the Caribbean Sea; Natural Resources; Tourism; Budget and Administration; Science and Technology; Health; and Education and Culture.

Headquarters: ACS Secretariat, 11-13 Victoria Ave., POB 660, Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago.

Website: http://www.acs-aec.org

Secretary-General: Dr Simón Molina Duarte (Venezuela).

CARIBBEAN COMMUNITY (CARICOM)

Origin. The Treaty of Chaguaramas establishing the Caribbean Community and Common Market was signed by the Prime Ministers of Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago at Chaguaramas, Trinidad, on 4 July 1973, and entered into force on 1 Aug. 1973.

B. Turner (Ed.), *The Statesman's Yearbook 2000* © Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 2000

87