*Organization*. The Assembly of the Heads of State and Government is the principal policy-making organ, and meets annually. The Council of Ministers meets twice a year, with each session electing its own chairperson. There is also a permanent secretariat headed by the Secretary-General elected for a 4-year term by the Assembly.

The Commission of Mediation, Conciliation and Arbitration is a 21-member body (no state may have more than 1 member) elected by the Assembly for a 5-year term, to hear and settle disputes between member states by peaceful means. There are also specialized commissions for economic, social, transport and communication, education, science, culture and health, defence, human rights and labour affairs. The biennial budget for 1996-98 was US\$61.45m.

*Official languages.* Arabic, French, Portuguese and English. *Headquarters:* POB 3243, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. *Secretary-General:* Dr Salim Ahmed Salim (Tanzania).

## Further Reading

El-Ayouty, Y. (ed.) The Organization of African Unity after Thirty Years. New York, 1994 Harris, G., The Organization of African Unity. [Bibliography]. Oxford and New Brunswick (NJ), 1994

## AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT BANK

Established to promote economic and social development in the region.

Regional Members. (52) Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Rep. of), Congo (Dem. Rep. of), Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tomé e Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

*Non-regional Members.* (25) Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Kuwait, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, UK, USA.

Headquarters: 01 BP 1387, Abidjan 01, Côte d'Ivoire.

## ECONOMIC COMMUNITY OF WEST AFRICAN STATES (ECOWAS)

Founded 1975 as a regional common market, it has now become involved in political disputes, and in 1993 amended its charter to assume responsibility for the regulation of regional armed conflicts. Its military arm is Ecomog.

Members. (1998) Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo.

*Organization*. It meets at yearly summits which rotate in the different capitals of member states. There is a secretariat in Abuja.

Headquarters: 60 Yakubu Gowon Crescent, Asokoro, Abuja, Nigeria.

## SOUTHERN AFRICAN DEVELOPMENT COMMUNITY (SADC)

*History and Membership.* The Declaration and Treaty establishing the SADC (replacing the South African Development Co-ordination Conference, SADCC, established in 1980 on the adoption of the Lusaka Declaration to reduce the region's economic

B. Turner (Ed.), *The Statesman's Yearbook* © Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1998