the environment, research and development and social policy; EFTA to adopt EU competition rules on anti-trust matters, abuse of a dominant position, public procurement, mergers and state aid; EFTA to create an EFTA Surveillance Authority and an EFTA Court; individuals to be free to live, work and offer services throughout the EEA, with mutual recognition of professional qualifications; capital movements to be free with some restrictions on investments; EFTA countries not to be bound by the Common Agricultural Policy (CAP) or Common Fisheries Policy (CFP).

The EEA-EFTA states have established a Surveillance Authority and a Court to ensure implementation of the Agreement among the EFTA-EEA states. Political direction is given by the EEA Council which meets twice a year at ministerial level, while ongoing operation of the Agreement is overseen by the EEA Joint Committee.

Legislative power remains with national governments and parliaments.

EFTA has formal relations with several other states. Declarations on co-operation were signed with Hungary, former Czechoslovakia and Poland (1990), Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Romania (1991), Slovenia and Albania (1992), Egypt, Morocco and Tunisia (1995), the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and the Palestine Liberation Organization (1996), Jordan and Lebanon (1997). Co-operation with Yugoslavia was suspended in Nov. 1991. Free trade agreements have been signed with Turkey (1991), Israel and Czechoslovakia (1992, with protocols on succession with the Czech Republic and Slovakia in 1993), Poland and Romania (1992), Bulgaria and Hungary (1993), Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Slovenia (1995), Morocco (1997). Contacts with the Gulf Co-operation Council have also been established.

A Central European Free Trade Area (CEFTA) has also now been established between the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia.

Organization. The operation of the free trade area among the EFTA states is the responsibility of the EFTA Council which meets regularly at ambassadorial level in Geneva. The Council is assisted by a Secretariat and standing committees. Each EFTA country holds the chairmanship of the Council for 6 months. For EEA matters there is a separate committee structure.

Brussels Office (EEA matters, press and information): 74 rue de Trèves, B-1040

Brussels.

Deputy Secretary-General, Brussels: Guttorm Vik (Norway).

Headquarters: 9-11 rue de Varembé, 1211 Geneva 20, Switzerland.

Website: http://www.efta.int.

Secretary-General: Kjartan Jóhansson (Iceland).

Publications. Convention Establishing the European Free Trade Association; EFTA Annual Report; EFTA Fact Sheets: Information Papers on Aspects of the EEA.

CENTRAL EUROPEAN INITIATIVE (CEI)

In July 1990, Austria, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Italy and Yugoslavia met on Italy's initiative to form an economic and political co-operation group in the region between the Adriatic and the Baltic Sea.

Members. (1998) Austria, Bosnia-Hercegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia.

Associate Members. Belarus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine.

Headquarters: Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Bem Rakpart 47, Budapest II, Hungary.

COUNCIL OF BALTIC SEA STATES

Founded in 1992 in Copenhagen following a meeting of the European Commission there.

B. Turner (Ed.), The Statesman's Yearbook

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1998