PITCAIRN ISLAND

Pitcairn Island (1.75 sq. miles; 4.6 sq. km) is situated in the Pacific Ocean, nearly equidistant from New Zealand and Panama (25° 04' S. lat., 130° 06' W. long.). It was discovered by Carteret in 1767, but remained uninhabited until 1790, when it was occupied by 9 mutineers of HMS *Bounty*, with 12 women and 6 men from Tahiti. Nothing was known of their existence until the island was visited in 1808. In 1856 the population having become too large for the island's resources, the inhabitants (194 in number) were, at their own request, removed to Norfolk Island; but 43 of them returned in 1859-64. The population has been declining and on 30 June 1976 it was 74.

Pitcairn was brought within the jurisdiction of the High Commissioner for the Western Pacific in 1898 and transferred to the Governor of Fiji in 1952. When Fiji became independent in Oct. 1970, the British High Commissioner in New Zealand

was appointed Governor.

The Local Government Ordinance of 1964 constitutes a Council of 10 members, of whom 4 are elected, 5 are nominated (3 by the 4 elected members and 2 by the Governor) and the Island Secretary is an ex officio member. The Island Magistrate, who is elected triennially, presides over the Council; other members hold office for only 1 year. Liaison between Governor and Council is through a Commissioner in the Auckland, New Zealand, office of the British High Commission. Fruit, vegetables and curios are sold to passing ships; flour, sugar and other foodstuffs are imported.

The uninhabited islands of Henderson (12 sq. miles), Ducie ($2\frac{1}{2}$ sq. miles) and Oeno (2 sq. miles) were annexed in 1902 and are included in the Pitcairn

group.

Governor: Harold Smedley, CMG, MBE. Island Magistrate. Ivan Christian (elected Dec. 1975).

A Guide to Pitcairn. British South Pacific Office, Suva, Fiji, 1963, revised ed. 1969 Ross, A. S. C., and Moverly, A. W., The Pitcairnese Language. London, 1964

ST HELENA

GOVERNMENT. The Government of St Helena is administered by a Governor, with the aid of a Legislative Council consisting of the Governor, 2 ex-officio members (the Government Secretary and the Treasurer) and 12 elected members. Committees of the Legislative Council are responsible for the general oversight of the activities of government departments and have, in addition, statutory and administrative functions.

The Governor is also assisted by an Executive Council consisting of the 2

ex-officio members and the chairmen of the Council committees.

Governor and C.-in-C.: G. C. Guy, CMG, CVO, OBE. Government Secretary: C. B. Kendall.

Flag: The British Blue Ensign with the shield of the colony in the fly.

AREA AND POPULATION. St Helena, of volcanic origin, is 1,200 miles from the west coast of Africa. Area, 47 sq. miles (121-7 sq. km), with a cultivable area of about 600 acres (243 hectares). The port of the island is Jamestown. Population (1976), 5,147. Births (1975), 126; deaths, 41; marriages, 33.

There are 10 Anglican churches and 4 Baptist chapels.

EDUCATION. Three pre-school playgroups, 8 primary, 3 senior and 1 secondary schools controlled by the Government had 1,368 pupils in Sept. 1976.

JUSTICE. Police force, 32; cases dealt with by police magistrate, 159 in 1976.

I. Paxton (Ed.), The Statesman's Year-Book