Luckham, R., The Nigerian Military: A Sociological Analysis of Authority and Revolt, 1960-67. CUP, 1971

Mackintosh, J. P., and others, Nigerian government and politics. London. 1966 Nwabutze, B. O., The Maclinnery of Justice in Nigeria. London, 1964 Okigbo. P. N. C., Nigerian Public Finance. Northwestern Univ. Press. 1965 Panter-Brick, S. K., Nigerian Politics and Military Rule: Prelude to Civil War. London, 1970

Trade Directory of the Federation of Nigeria. 4th ed. London, 1965

PITCAIRN ISLAND

Pitcairn Island (1.75 sq. miles; 4.6 sq. km) is situated in the Pacific Ocean, nearly equidistant from New Zealand and Panama (25° 04' S. lat., 130° 06' W. long.). It was discovered by Carteret in 1767, but remained uninhabited until 1790, when it was occupied by 9 mutineers of HMS *Bounty*, with 12 women and 6 men from Tahiti. Nothing was known of their existence until the island was visited in 1808. In 1856 the population having become too large for the island's resources, the inhabitants (194 in number) were, at their own request, removed to Norfolk Island; but 43 of them returned in 1859-64. The population has been declining and on 31 Dec. 1971 it was approximately 92.

Pitcairn was brought within the jurisdiction of the High Commissioner for the Western Pacific in 1898 and transferred to the Governor of Fiji in 1952. When Fiji became independent in Oct. 1970, the British High Commissioner in New Zealand was appointed Governor.

The Local Government Ordinance of 1964 constitutes a Council of 10 members, of whom 4 are elected, 5 are nominated (3 by the 4 elected members and 2 by the Governor) and the Island Secretary is an ex officio member. The Island Magistrate, who is elected triennially, presides over the Council; other members hold office for only 1 year. Liaison between Governor and Council is through a Commissioner in the Auckland, New Zealand, office of the British High Commission. Fruit, vegetables and curios are sold to passing ships; flour, sugar and other foodstuffs are imported.

The uninhabited islands of Henderson (12 sq. miles), Ducie ($2\frac{1}{2}$ sq. miles) and Oeno (2 sq. miles) were annexed in 1902 and are included in the Pitcairn group.

Governor: D. A. Scott. Island Magistrate: Pervis Young (elected Dec. 1969).

A Guide to Pitcairn. British South Pacific Office, Suva, Fiji, 1963, revised ed. 1969 Ross, A. S. C., and Moverly, A. W., The Pitcairnese Language. London, 1964

ST HELENA

GOVERNMENT. The Government of St Helena is administered by a Governor, with the aid of a Legislative Council consisting of the Governor, 2 *ex-officio* members (the Government Secretary and the Treasurer) and 12 least of the Government Secretar elected members. Committees of the Legislative Council are responsible for the general oversight of the activities of government departments and have, in addition, statutory and administrative functions.

The Governor is also assisted by an Executive Council consisting of the 2 ex-officio members and the chairmen of the Council committees.

Governor and C.-in-C.: Sir Thomas Oates, CMG, OBE. Government Secretary: I. C. Rose, CBE.

AREA AND POPULATION. St Helena, of volcanic origin, is 1,200 miles from the west coast of Africa. Area, 47 sq. miles (121.7 sq. km), with a cultivable area of 8,000 acres (3,580 hectares). The port of the island is Jamestown.