MONACO

MONACO.

Prince Louis II, born July 12, 1870, succeeded his father, Prince Albert, June 26, 1922.

Monaco is a small Principality on the Mediterranean, surrounded since 1860 by the French Department of Alpes Maritimes except on the side towards the sea. From 968 it belonged to the house of Grimaldi. In 1715 it passed into the female line, Louise Hippolyte, daughter of Antony I., heiress of Monaco, marrying Jacques de Goyon Matignon, Count of Thorigny, who took the name and arms of Grimaldi. Antony I died in 1731, Louise Hippolyte reigning only ten months and dying in 1732. She was succeeded by her husband under the name of Jacques I., who also succeeded Antony I. as Duc de Valentinois, and was in his turn succeeded by his son Honorius III. This Prince was dispossessed by the French Revolution in 1792, and died in 1795. In 1814 the Principality was re-established, but placed under the protection of the Kingdom of Sardinia by the Treaty of Vienna (1815).

In 1848 Mentone and Roccabruna revolted, and declared themselves free towns; in 1861 Charles III. ceded his rights over them to France, and the Principality thus became geographically an *enclave* of France, when the Sardinian garrison was withdrawn and the Protectorate came to an end.

On January 7, 1911, a Constitution was promulgated, which provides for a National Council elected by universal suffrage and scrutin de liste. The Government is carried out under the authority of the Prince by a Ministry assisted by a Council of State. The legislative power is exercised by the Prince and the National Council, which consists of 21 members elected for four years. The territory of the Principality is divided into three communes, administered by municipal bodies, in the election of which women are entitled to take part.

In 1819 the Government adopted a code founded upon the French codes and a Court of First Instance, as well as a Juge de Paix's Court. The Principality issues its own separate postage-stamps, and has its own flag.

The small harbour, absolutely sheltered, has an area of 42 acres, depth at entrance 90 feet, and alongside the quay 24 feet at least. The Customs duties are the same as in France.

The area is 149 hectares, or 370 acres. Population (census January 9, 1928), 24,927. Towns: Monaco, 2,085; La Condamine, 11,787; Monte Carlo, 11,055.

There has been since 1887 a Roman Catholic bishop. A semi-military police force has taken the place of the 'guard of honour' and troops formerly maintained. The value of the commerce of the Principality is not stated. The revenue is mainly derived from the gaming tables. The annual grant for the concession was 80,000% in 1917; 90,000% in 1927, and in 1937 it will be 100,000%.

Consul-General for Monaco in London.—Mr. Charles Nuthall Foreman. British Consul.—J. W. Keogh, O.B.E. (residing at Nice). British Vice-Consul.—M. L. Ainslie (residing at Monte Carlo).

BOOKS OF REFERENCE.

Baedeker's Southern France. 6th ed. Leipzig, 1914. Boyer de Ste. Suzanne (R. de), La Principauté de Monaco. Paris. 1884. France (H.), An Pays de Cocagne : La Principauté de Monaco. Paris, 1901. Harris (J. C.), Monaco. Pièces E Historiques et Traités. Nice, 1882. Saige (G.), Monaco, ses Origines et son Histoire. Paris, 1898. Schaefter (P.), Les Institutions et les Lois de la Principauté de Monaco. Monaco 1875. Smith (A.), Monaco and Monte Carlo. London, 1912. Taxil (L.), Monaco, Paris, 1905.

M. Epstein (Ed.), The Statesman's Year-Book

© Palgrave Macmillan, a division of Macmillan Publishers Limited 1930