is made of and how it works. CERN's biggest accelerator, the Large Hadron Collider (LHC), became operational in Sept. 2008. One of the beneficial byproducts of CERN activity is the Worldwide Web, developed at CERN to give particle physicists easy access to shared data. One of Europe's first joint ventures, CERN now has a membership of 22 member states: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom. Some 12,000 scientists, half of the world's particle physicists, use CERN's facilities. They represent 600 institutions and universities and 120 nationalities.

Address: CH-1211 Geneva 23, Switzerland.

Website: http://home.cern
Email: cern.reception@cern.ch

Director-General: Fabiola Gianotti (Italy).

Central European Initiative (CEI)

In Nov. 1989 Austria, Hungary, Italy and the then Yugoslavia met on Italy's initiative to form an economic and political cooperation group in the region.

Members. Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Ukraine.

Address: Executive Secretariat, Via Genova 9, 34121 Trieste, Italy.

Website: http://www.cei.int

Email: cei@cei.int

Secretary General: Giovanni Caracciolo di Vietri (Italy).

Nordic Council

Founded in 1952 as a co-operative link between the parliaments and governments of the Nordic states. The co-operation focuses on Intra-Nordic co-operation, co-operation with Europe/EU/EEA and co-operation with the adjacent areas. The Council consists of 87 elected MPs and the committees meet several times a year, as required. Every year the Nordic Council grants prizes for literature, music, nature and environment.

Members. Denmark (including the Faroe Islands and Greenland), Finland (including Åland), Iceland, Norway, Sweden.

Address: Ved Stranden 18, DK-1061 Copenhagen K, Denmark.

Website: http://www.norden.org Email: nordisk-rad@norden.org

President: Michael Tetzschner (Norway).

Nordic Development Fund (NDF)

NDF is a multilateral development finance institution established by the five Nordic countries, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden. In 1989 NDF began its operations providing soft loans for social and economic development. It entered a new phase in 2009 and changed its focus to grant aid for climate change-related

projects. By 2015 NDF had approved 85 projects with a total value of €235·7m. for climate change projects in 17 countries.

Address: Fabianinkatu 34, PO Box 185, FI-00171 Helsinki,

Website: http://www.ndf.fi
Email: info.ndf@ndf.fi

Managing Director: Pasi Hellman (Finland).

Nordic Investment Bank (NIB)

The Nordic Investment Bank, which commenced operations in 1976, is a multilateral financial institution owned by Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway and Sweden. It finances public and private projects both within and outside the Nordic area. Priority is given to projects furthering economic co-operation between the member countries or improving the environment. Focal points include the neighbouring areas of the member countries.

Address: Fabianinkatu 34, PO Box 249, FI-00171 Helsinki,

Finland.

Website: http://www.nib.int

Email: info@nib.int

President: Henrik Normann (Denmark).

Council of the Baltic Sea States

Established in 1992 in Copenhagen following a conference of ministers of foreign affairs.

Members. Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia, Sweden and the European Commission.

Aims. To promote co-operation in the Baltic Sea region in the field of trade, investment and economic exchanges, combating organized crime, civil security, culture and education, transport and communication, energy and environment, human rights and assistance to democratic institutions.

The Council meets at ministerial level once a year, chaired by rotating foreign ministers; it is the supreme decision-making body. Between annual sessions the Committee of Senior Officials and three working groups meet at regular intervals. In 1999 ministers of energy of the CBSS member states agreed to achieve the goal of creating effective, economically and environmentally sound and more integrated energy systems in the Baltic Sea region. Nine summits at the level of heads of government of CBSS member states and the President of the European Commission have taken place; in 1996 and then every other year since up to and including 2012. The 2014 CBSS summit was due to be held in Turku, Finland, but was cancelled owing to the Ukraine crisis and the annexation of Crimea by Russia. The Baltic Sea Region Energy Cooperation (BASREC) is made up of energy ministers from the region and is chaired by the energy minister from the chair country of the CBSS.

Official language: English.

CBSS Secretariat: Strömsborg, PO Box 2010, 103 11 Stockholm, Slussplan 9, Sweden.

Website: http://www.cbss.org

Email: cbss@cbss.org

Director General of the Secretariat: Maira Mora (Latvia).